Skip to content

G2C Brief — GLM-5.3: scaling post-training on a frozen base

Release question: How much capability can a lab add without touching the base model at all?

GLM-5.3 is the closest thing a frontier release has offered to a controlled experiment. Z.ai states the base model is byte-identical to GLM-5.2's and says, verbatim, "Scaling post-training is all we did for GLM-5.3." Every number that moved on its benchmark table therefore moved for reasons the second half of this course studies: supervised fine-tuning, reinforcement learning, reward design, and the environments the model practices in. Part II's thesis — that a language model and an assistant are different artifacts built from the same weights — is here demonstrated at 744 billion parameters.

The release carries a second story the course has not met before: Z.ai reports that scaled agentic RL produced emergent offensive-security capability, and it is holding the open weights for roughly two weeks of "safety evaluation and hardening" as a consequence. This Brief reads both stories with the usual evidence labels.

Snapshot and evidence policy

Field Snapshot
Release GLM-5.3, announced August 14, 2026; API / Coding Plan access only at the snapshot date
Models GLM-5.3 (single variant; no Air or base checkpoint announced)
Release source Official announcement blog
Docs source Official developer docs
Lineage sources GLM-5 technical report, v1 · GLM-5.2 model card and its config.json · SAO paper, v1 · IndexCache paper, v1
Weight source Not yet published. Z.ai: weights ship "in two weeks after launch, once safety evaluation and hardening are complete"
License Not stated for GLM-5.3; GLM-5 and GLM-5.2 weights are MIT (lineage precedent, not a commitment)
Last verified August 15, 2026

The labels below matter:

  • Reported means Z.ai reports it. It is not an independent replication.
  • Derived means arithmetic from reported values.
  • G2C interpretation means this Brief is connecting the evidence to the course.
  • Not disclosed means the source does not support a stronger conclusion.

The evidence chain is unusually indirect. GLM-5.3 has no technical report of its own. Its architecture facts come from a different release's disclosures — the GLM-5 report and the GLM-5.2 config.json — carried across by the blog's single sentence "It uses the same base model as GLM-5.2." Until the 5.3 weights are published, nothing about the model itself can be checked independently; every quality claim rides on Z.ai's own evaluation of an API-only artifact. This Brief marks inherited facts as Reported (lineage).

GLM-5 technical report (Feb 2026)     GLM-5.2 card + config.json (Jun 2026)
   architecture, pretraining,             1M context, IndexShare,
   post-training pipeline                 critic PPO, published weights
              └───────────────┬───────────────────┘
                              │  "same base model"
                              ▼
                 GLM-5.3 blog + docs (Aug 2026)
                 post-training delta only; weights pending

The release in one page

Reported (lineage). The base is GLM-5.2's: a mixture-of-experts Transformer with 744B total and 40B activated parameters, 78 layers, MLA attention with DeepSeek Sparse Attention on top, 256 routed experts with 8 selected per token plus one shared expert, a one-million-token native context, one multi-token-prediction layer, and a 154,880-entry vocabulary. It was pretrained on 28.5T tokens with the Muon optimizer. GLM-5.3 changes none of this.

Reported. What changed is post-training scale: more synthesized RL environments, more tasks, more compute spent training in them, and systems work that raised end-to-end RL training throughput by more than 2.3×. The product surface also changed: three thinking-effort levels (low, high, max), and disabling thinking is no longer supported — a breaking change from 5.2.

Derived. One token activates roughly 40 / 744 = 5.4% of the named parameter count. More interesting is the delta arithmetic below: because the base is fixed, the entire movement in each benchmark row is attributable to post-training plus evaluation harness, with zero architecture confound. That attribution is exactly what multi-change releases (compare DeepSeek V4's everything-at-once redesign) cannot offer.

Benchmark GLM-5.2 GLM-5.3 Delta
Terminal Bench 2.1 81.0 88.2 +7.2
Terminal Bench 3.0 4.6 28.3 +23.7
DeepSWE v1.1 46.2 66.9 +20.7
SWE-Marathon v1.1 19.4 42.5 +23.1
Toolathlon Verified 59.9 73.0 +13.1
AutomationBench v1.0.6 26.2 48.2 +22.0
CyberGym 77.2 84.5 +7.3
ExploitBench 24.4 54.4 +30.0
HLE with tools 54.7 62.5 +7.8
GDPval-AA v2 1508 1769 +261

All rows are Z.ai's own evaluations of both models. The official table also places GLM-5.3 alongside current commercial frontier models — near parity on several agentic suites, behind on most coding-depth suites — but those cross-vendor rows inherit every harness and configuration caveat at once, so this Brief leans on the same-base delta column, where the comparison is cleanest.

G2C interpretation. The deltas cluster. The long-horizon, environment-heavy suites (SWE-Marathon, AutomationBench, Terminal Bench 3.0, ExploitBench) roughly doubled or better; the shorter-horizon suites moved single digits. That pattern is what you would predict if the intervention were "more and harder RL environments" rather than a general capability jump — the gains sit where the new training distribution sits.

What didn't change: the inherited base

The frozen half of the experiment is worth reading on its own, because it collects several mechanisms the course builds or tracks. Everything in this section is Reported (lineage) — disclosed for GLM-5/5.2, inherited by 5.3's "same base model" assertion, and checkable in the published GLM-5.2 config.json.

MoE: the total/active split, again

256 fine-grained routed experts, 8 active per token, one shared expert, with the first three layers dense. This is the same capacity-versus-per-token-compute separation built in Beyond MoE — built in g2c at mechanism scale. The 5.4% activation ratio describes conditional computation, not latency; the course's standing warning about that gap applies unchanged.

MLA plus DSA: compress the cache, then select from it

GLM-5's attention stacks two ideas. Multi-head Latent Attention stores a compressed 512-dimensional latent per token instead of full per-head keys and values (the config's kv_lora_rank: 512), decompressing on use. DeepSeek Sparse Attention then puts a learned indexer on top: for each query it selects the index_topk: 2048 most relevant cached tokens and attends only to those, so attention work stops growing with the full history even at a million-token context.

GLM-5.2 added IndexShare: every four layers share one indexer, with intermediate layers reusing the nearest full indexer's top-k selections. Z.ai reports this removes 75% of indexer compute and cuts per-token FLOPs 2.9× at 1M context. One naming footnote a careful reader should know: the blog calls the mechanism IndexShare while the underlying paper is titled IndexCache — the same design under two names, a small live example of why Briefs pin sources.

Module 08 builds the projections being compressed, Module 16 builds the KV cache that makes the memory problem concrete, and The efficient-attention map frames the question every long-context design answers: what state must survive from the history? GLM's answer — keep everything, but compressed, and consult only a selected subset — is a conceptual bridge. The draft Beyond Sparse Attention specifies a learned indexer and exact-payload selection build, but its scaffold has not shipped and it does not reproduce MLA compression or IndexShare.

Muon, second sighting

The GLM-5 report confirms pretraining used Muon with a "Muon Split" modification (per-head orthogonalization). With DeepSeek V4 this makes a second independent frontier family training on Muon rather than AdamW. Module 03B provides the optimizer contract; Muon itself remains not yet covered. Two families is recurrence evidence for the roadmap's alternative-optimizer watchlist — still evidence, not yet a module.

Multi-token prediction, also again

One parameter-shared MTP layer, used for speculative decoding at serving time; the report cites an acceptance length of 2.76 tokens. The same mechanism family appears across DeepSeek and Qwen releases. Module 06 builds one-token prediction; MTP is not yet covered and is accumulating the same watchlist evidence as Muon, under alternative/parallel generation.

A million tokens took staged exposure

GLM-5's base context was built out in stages — 32K (1T tokens), 128K (500B), 200K (50B), plus a ~20B-token DSA adaptation phase — and GLM-5.2 extended to 1M. Long context arrived through training exposure, not through editing a configuration value. That is Beyond Midtraining's central claim demonstrated at production scale — a conceptual bridge from the course's lecture-level treatment.

What changed: post-training at scale

The pipeline 5.3 inherits

The GLM-5 report describes the fullest disclosed version of the pipeline: SFT with "interleaved thinking" traces at a 202,752-token context, then reasoning RL with GRPO plus a stabilization scheme it names IcePop, then asynchronous agentic RL, then general RL, consolidated by an on-policy cross-stage distillation step. GLM-5.2 swapped in critic-based PPO for long-horizon tasks and added an anti-reward-hacking module — a rule filter plus an LLM judge — in the reward path.

GLM-5 / 5.2 pipeline (Reported, lineage):

  base ─ SFT (interleaved thinking)
           ├─ reasoning RL (GRPO + IcePop)
           ├─ agentic RL (async; critic PPO for long horizon in 5.2)
           ├─ general RL
           └─ on-policy cross-stage distillation ─► instruct model

GLM-5.3 (Reported): same machinery, scaled —
  more environments · more tasks · SAO with compaction · 2.3× RL throughput

Module 13 builds response-masked SFT and Beyond RL builds the GRPO loop — both built in g2c at toy scale. Critic-based PPO adds a value model the course deliberately avoids (GRPO exists to not need one), and the cross-stage distillation is the same conceptual bridge to Module 16B that DeepSeek's OPD is: on-policy trajectories and teacher logits, not teacher-written text.

SAO: RL sampling redesigned for long horizons

GLM-5.3's blog credits SAO — Single-Rollout Asynchronous Optimization — for its long-horizon RL. The SAO paper replaces GRPO's group-wise sampling (many rollouts per prompt, advantage from the group mean) with single rollouts and strict double-sided token-level clipping, which matters when one rollout is a multi-hour agent trajectory and collecting a group of 32 per prompt is the bottleneck. G2C interpretation: this is the group-relative baseline from Beyond RL being removed under systems pressure — the toy module's design choice, revisited because a group of long-horizon rollouts became too expensive to sit in one batch. The mechanism is a conceptual bridge; the course implements the group-wise form SAO departs from.

Environments are synthesized, then verified by a judge

Reported, verbatim: "Research agents collect task patterns from real work and turn them into runnable long-horizon environments with multi-step dependencies and hidden state; a judge agent then attempts each task to verify that it is actually solvable."

G2C interpretation. This is the Self-Instruct shape from Module 16B applied to RL environments instead of SFT pairs: a generator proposes, an independent check gates, and only the survivors enter training. The course's design rule that the proposer must not grade its own output reappears here as a separate judge agent whose job is to prove solvability before a task can issue reward. What is not disclosed is everything quantitative: environment counts, rejection rates, or how much of the 5.3 delta each environment family bought.

Thinking effort is now a product contract

Three levels (low, high, max; max recommended for coding), and thinking can no longer be disabled — thinking.type: enabled is mandatory, a breaking API change from 5.2. G2C interpretation: reasoning length has become a serving-time knob trained in during post-training, the production-scale relative of the decode-time budgets studied in Module 11. Removing the off switch is a distribution statement: Z.ai no longer trains or evaluates a no-thinking mode worth supporting.

The cyber capability and the delayed weights

Reported. Z.ai frames offensive-security skill as emergent from scaled agentic RL — capability that "continued to develop as training scaled," with the model "reasoning across multiple stages of exploitation." Its disclosure program reports 2,436 vulnerabilities found across 269 open-source projects, 1,097 of medium-to-high severity, 53 publicly disclosed with 2,383 under embargo, the oldest bug roughly 40 years old and the average one undetected for 26.6 years. CyberGym 84.5 is claimed as the best published result. Benchmark evaluation ran behind domain whitelists, and the weight release is explicitly held for hardening because of this capability. Third-party reporting adds color but, at the snapshot date, no independent verification of the ledger's contents.

G2C interpretation. The course's security material — Module 18's prompt-injection lab and untrusted-tool-output rule, Beyond Harness's insistence that a permission check is not a sandbox — treats the model as the thing to defend. GLM-5.3 is the other direction: the model as the thing someone else must defend against, with release engineering (evaluation, hardening, staged weights) as the control surface. The mechanisms are course material; the policy layer is not yet covered anywhere in g2c, and a Brief is the right container for it — it is a property of releases, not of laptop-scale builds.

Not disclosed. What "hardening" changes in the weights, how the safety evaluation is scored, and whether the published checkpoint will match the API-served model.

Coverage map

GLM-5.3 mechanism G2C connection Coverage
Transformer, causal objective, MoE total/active split Modules 07–10, Beyond MoE Built in g2c at mechanism scale
MLA latent KV compression + DSA learned sparse selection Modules 08, 16 + draft Beyond Sparse Attention Not yet covered — lesson drafted, executable build not shipped
IndexShare cross-layer indexer reuse Module 16's cache reasoning Conceptual bridge
Staged long-context extension to 1M Beyond Midtraining + draft Beyond Long Context Conceptual bridge; executable build not shipped
Response-masked SFT with thinking traces Module 13 Built in g2c
GRPO reasoning RL Beyond RL Built in g2c at toy scale
Critic-based PPO, SAO single-rollout async RL Beyond RL's GRPO baseline Conceptual bridge
Environment synthesis with judge-agent gating Module 16B's propose/filter funnel Conceptual bridge
Anti-reward-hacking reward filtering Module 15's evaluation-integrity concerns Conceptual bridge
On-policy cross-stage distillation Module 16B Conceptual bridge
MTP speculative decoding Modules 06, 11, 16 Not yet covered
Muon (Split) optimizer Module 03B baseline Not yet covered
slime RL infrastructure, 2.3× throughput systems work no distributed-training track Not yet covered
Emergent-capability release policy Brief-level only Not yet covered by design

Claims versus demonstrated evidence

What the primary sources establish directly

  • The blog and docs commit, in plain text, to the frozen-base claim, the two-week weight timeline, the mandatory-thinking API change, and the benchmark table's numbers as Z.ai's own measurements.
  • The lineage architecture is genuinely well documented: the GLM-5 report plus the GLM-5.2 config.json pin every structural number this Brief cites, and the 5.2 weights those numbers describe are public today.
  • The 5.2 → 5.3 delta column is reproducible arithmetic from one vendor's published table.

What remains reported rather than independently established here

  • Every GLM-5.3 quality and capability claim is vendor-evaluated against an API-only model. Until weights are published, no independent measurement of any table row is possible even in principle.
  • "Same base model" is asserted, not yet verifiable; weight diffing becomes possible only after release.
  • The vulnerability ledger's embargoed majority (2,383 of 2,436) cannot be inspected; the emergence narrative — capability arising from scaled general agentic RL rather than targeted cyber training — is not supported by any disclosed ablation.
  • No GLM-5.3 technical report exists: post-training compute, data volumes, environment counts, reward configurations, and the hardening methodology are all not disclosed.
  • The license for the forthcoming weights is unstated; MIT is lineage precedent only.

At 744B total parameters — roughly 1.5TB of BF16 weights before any serving state — GLM-5.3 sits far outside the course's laptop boundary even after its weights ship, and at the snapshot date it is API-only besides. This Brief asks you to run nothing.

A practical reading route

There is no report to read front-to-back, so read the chain in dependency order:

  1. The GLM-5.3 blog, twice. Once for claims, once marking each sentence as frozen-base fact, post-training change, or evaluation result.
  2. The delta column of the benchmark table, before any cross-vendor row. Ask of each suite: how long-horizon is it, and does the gain pattern match "more environments"?
  3. GLM-5's report, §§ on architecture and post-training — for what the frozen base actually is and the pipeline 5.3 scaled. Skim; you have built the load-bearing parts.
  4. The SAO paper's introduction — just far enough to see why group-wise sampling breaks at long horizons.
  5. The GLM-5.2 config.json — every field maps to something you built or a Beyond module you read. This file is the ground truth the prose inherits from.
  6. The cyber section last, with the evidence labels in hand: ledger numbers are Reported; emergence is a narrative; the embargo is a reason you cannot check.

After this Brief, you should be able to

  • explain why a frozen base makes GLM-5.3's benchmark deltas unusually attributable, and what confound (vendor-run evaluation) still remains;
  • trace a claim about GLM-5.3's architecture back through the "same base model" assertion to the GLM-5/5.2 documents that actually support it;
  • describe what SAO removes from GRPO and the systems pressure that motivated removing it;
  • connect judge-gated environment synthesis to Module 16B's rule that the proposer must not grade its own output;
  • state what the vulnerability ledger establishes, what it merely reports, and why the weight delay is a release-policy mechanism rather than a model mechanism;
  • explain why "disabling thinking is no longer supported" is a training- distribution statement and not just an API deprecation;
  • label any sentence in the release as reported, reported-by-lineage, derived, interpreted, or not disclosed.